To continue blogging?

31 March 2008

I have been literally up to my eyes with work in the last fortnight, and this looks set to continue for the foreseeable future. And for most part it’s not even anything wonderful to report. Just a whole lot of frustration in trying to get everything analysed correctly and most appropriately.

A lot of my source of exasperation comes from the dataset that had been made available to us, and because this is a collaborative project that several groups are working on, I am obliged to use this set of data.

Unfortunately, for the analyses that I am carrying out, it requires several steps of formatting, which is hampered by the un-uniformity of the data source. It is not easy trying to automated processes when the data comes in several forms, all collectively put together. There isn’t even a pattern of the different forms, and such randomness is really quite a curse.

As a result, I had to put in more hours of manual checks, and this is tiring me out when I have some 13K genes to go through. Urggggh…

I don’t even know if I’ll ever have time to keep up this blog properly, with some quality posts. I also dislike posting too much things just randomly without an ounce of interest to anyone. So should I continue blogging here, or let the blog die?

3 Responses to “To continue blogging?”

  1. Chloé said

    as you’ve told me yourself:
    don’t blog if you don’t feel like it

    also i’m not anyone and i’m interested!
    “will she get her PhD before she turns 28?”
    this is a thrilling blog! 😛

    so it depends how you feel about it i guess 😉
    perhaps just take a break while you’re really busy and come back later?
    the only acceptable last post for this blog should be called “Graduation” 😉
    (either that or no last post)
    *crosses fingers*

  2. med said

    😉

    do what u can…prioritize..u dont need to do it daily..weekly or bi weekly update works as well (^o^)

  3. alexalynn said

    thanks chloe, i know what you mean, and yes, i think that is probably the only acceptable last post to this blog 😉

    thanks med, well, it looks like this will be that sort of non-updated regularly type of blog from now on…

Leave a comment