Overreacting or heed my instinct?

15 March 2008

I’ve been on the emotional rollercoaster in the past few weeks, up and down, up and down. So much so that I’m nearly afraid to trust my own instinct and feeling anymore. I have just crash and burn after letting go of my usual tightly reined control of my emotions, and I frankly don’t think I’d want any surprises right now.

So what do you do when you think someone else is seeking more than friendship from you, after lending a listening ear through the difficult time?

Maybe I am overreacting, imagining things that are not there, and reading too much into everything. This friend in question may just happen to be really nice and supportive, and therefore a little more sensitive to my feelings etc.

But past experience had taught me not to take this for granted.

For another friend a few years back, after seeing me through the break down of a relationship, ended up spilling his feelings and making things very awkward between us. We stopped talking for such a long time, which was rather upsetting given we were very close as friends. To this day, even though we still talk and hang out, things never went back the way it was and I guess we never recovered.

I fear for something like this right now too…

I have tried to be subtle in dropping hints that I’m still not quite over the boy right now, and even when I do, I have a preference for different kind of guy. What else can I do? I’ve been keeping some distance and not try to give the wrong signals, but I also know that, as human, we sometimes blatantly ignore signs that we don’t want to see. What then?

Urggh…

Leave a Reply

